Team Race - CALL M 06      

Rule 64.1 Penalties and Exoneration
Rule D2.1(c) Acknowledgement of Breaches of Rules
Rule D2.2(a) Umpired Races: Requesting a Decision
Rule D2.2(b) Umpired Races: Signalling the Decision
Rule D2.3(a) Single-Flag Protest Procedures

Question 1
There is a Part 2 incident between A and X. A protests X by immediately hailing ‘Protest X’ and displaying a red flag. A then takes a One-Turn-Penalty. After finishing her penalty, A displays a yellow flag and hails ‘Umpire’. What should the call be?

Answer 1
When A requests an umpire decision in accordance with rule D2.2(a) the umpires shall signal a decision in accordance with rule D2.2(b).
Case 1:
The umpires decide that A broke a rule. A has already taken a penalty as described by rule D2.1(b). Therefore, she shall not be further penalized. Signal ‘No penalty’.
Case 2:
The umpires decide that X broke a rule. The penalty taken by A does not exonerate X. Penalize X.
Case 3:
The umpires decide that both A and X broke a rule and that rule 64.1(c) does not apply. A has already taken a penalty as described by rule D2.1(b). Therefore, she shall not be further penalized. Penalize X only.
Case 4:
The umpires decide that no boat broke a rule. Signal ‘No penalty’.

Question 2
The situation is as in question 1, except that both boats protest each other, and both boats display a yellow flag and hail ‘Umpire’ after A has taken a penalty. Does that change the call?

Answer 2
No. Provided the umpires decide that the two protests are for the same incident, they only make one decision and signal in accordance with the procedure described in answer 1.

Question 3
The situation is as in question 2, except that there are clearly two incidents between A and X, one immediately after the other. Immediately after the second incident, both boats hail each other and promptly display a red flag. A then takes a One-Turn penalty. When A has finished her penalty, both boats display a yellow flag and hail ‘Umpire’. Does that change the call?

Answer 3
Yes. The umpires will decide each incident separately. Depending on what the umpires decide on each of the two incidents, and on which boat, if any, broke a rule, they will decide whether to penalize any boat, taking into consideration that A has taken a single penalty.

Question 4
If the single-flag protest procedure in rule D2.3(a) is in use, what should the call be?

Answer 4
Rule D2.3(a) allows the umpires to penalize a boat only if no boat takes a penalty. As A has taken a penalty, the incident is closed and the umpires should make no signal.